FSSAI mandates food safety audit of food businesses holding central license and falling under high risk category

Aug 20, 2019 | by Avantis RegTech Legal Research Team

Industry Specific Compliance

The Food Safety and Standards Authority of India (FSSAI) on August 13, 2019, has passed an Order directing all the food businesses holding central license and falling under the high risk category to mandatory food safety auditing under the Food Safety and Standards (Food Safety Auditing) Regulations, 2018. 

The followings are the six categories of businesses:

o Dairy products and analogues, excluding products of food category 2.0 [Product ID-1]

o Meat and meat products including poultry [Product ID-8]

o Fish and fish products, including mollusks, crustaceans, and eschinoderms [Product ID-9]

o Eggs and egg products [Products ID-10]

o Foodstuffs intended for particular nutritional uses (food for infant nutrition etc.) [Products ID-13]

o Prepared foods (catering etc.) [Products ID-16]

The food businesses shall get their business audited by a recognized auditing agency at every intervals. An auditor manual with these details and list of agencies and can be downloaded from the link – https://www.fssai.gov.in/cms/third-party-audit.php


Related Updates

Alternate Text

Get updates on the go on RuleZbook Mobile App.