Prohibition on campaign from May 16 to May 19, 2019 in nine PCs of phase 7 in West Bengal

May 17, 2019 | by Avantis RegTech Legal Research Team

A |  A

The Election Commission of India (ECI) on May 15, 2019, has passed an Order prohibiting any kind of gathering or campaigning from 10 pm on May 16 till the conclusion of poll on May 19, 2019 in nine Parliamentary Constituencies (PCs) of Phrase 7 in the state of West Bengal.

Due to the growing incidents of disruption and violence during the political campaigns or procession in the state of West Bengal during the ongoing general elections to the Lok Sabha, the Commission has directed that no person shall:

 convene, hold, attend, join or address any public meeting or procession in connection with the election

 display to the public any election matter by means of cinematograph, television or other similar apparatus; or

 propagate any election matter to the public by holding, or by arranging the holding of, any musical concert or any theatrical performance or any other entertainment or amusement with a view to attracting the members of the public thereto, in connection with these elections; and no spirituous, fermented or intoxicating liquors or other substances of a like nature shall be sold, given or distributed at a hotel, eating house, tavern, shop or any other place, public or private

within polling areas in these nine Parliamentary Constituencies namely, Dum Dum, Barasat, Basirhat, Jaynagar, Mathurapur, Diamond Harbour, Jadavpur, Kolkata Dakshin and Kolkata Uttar from 10 PM on May 16, 2019 till the conclusion of poll on May 19, 2019.


Related Updates

Alternate Text

Get updates on the go on RuleZbook Mobile App.